Midseason Replacement

Earnest Pettie, comedy writer

deadCENTER Film Festival

I’ve been spending the weekend at deadCENTER Film Festival in Oklahoma City. Man with a Moustache is playing here, and I came to support the movie and see old friends. The reception that Man with a Moustache has gotten has been beyond belief for me. It has been getting good laughs, and I think it has been standing up next to the other entries particularly well.

Last night, it played in two programs, the Okie Shorts program and the Midnight Shorts program. I have to admit to being astounded by the Okie Shorts lineup. I had no idea that there were so many quality projects coming out of Oklahoma right now. In fact, Mark Potts had a film that worried me because people were laughing so hard at it that I thought there’d be no laughs left over for mine! When I began Midseason Replacement a while back, I linked to a hilarious short called Owen’s Predicament. Mark Potts did that, and his new short, For the Love of Family, is equally funny.

I would also like to draw your attention to my favorite festival short, Bitch. It played during the Midnight Shorts program, and from the very first scene, I knew I was in for a special treat. If it ever comes to a festival near you, go watch it. If it’s ever available for sale, buy it. I can’t praise it enough. I won’t even bother describing it, because I want you to go check out the website.

2 comments on “deadCENTER Film Festival

  1. DeAnn
    June 12, 2007

    I’ll definitely check out the movie.

    I’m excited your site is back up and running!

  2. Arnella
    October 18, 2007

    I just found your blog. I haven’t had time to read much, but it has already made me laugh. I will have to come back for more!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 9, 2007 by in Uncategorized.

Cool Links

